“Make-up!…and lots of it!”

Made a brief but, from my end, intense visit to CNN today to appear live on its weekly feature, “The 30 Second Pitch.”

The idea is to give those of us who are “exploring other career options” in today’s “challenging” job market an opportunity to get a national forum for that career advice staple, the elevator speech, the nearly twitter-sized piece of oratory you employ when you only have a few moments to state your case.

I emailed CNN my pitch to do “The Pitch” and they got back to me by the next business day, and scheduled me to pitch my heart out one week later.

After spreading the word digitally, I got a lot of great feedback from friends and acquaintances, including some high value tips from media mavens Peter Himler, Dan Forman, Jamie Stuart, Paul Dougherty, Mathew Geller, Peter Quinn, Patrick Sean Flaherty, Helen Falk and others.

This morning at 10:05, I walk out of the snow (really snizzle) and into CNN’s New York Columbus Circle offices, was met by a news assistant, Jean, who shuttled me off for an intense 30 minutes getting set for my 30 seconds.

After getting spackled with make-up to prepare me for my hi-def debut, I was led into a small studio and had the IFB plugged into my ear.  While listening to the live programming, praying for no breaking news, I reviewed my spiel two or three more times, did a couple of voice-checks and moments later was talking to anchor Kyra Phillips live from the Atlanta studio.

This week CNN had three “30 Second” pitchers, and I was glad not to have to go first.   Each of us fielded a couple of questions from Kyra and then it was showtime…a lot to say and little time to say it.

Here’s how it went…

Posted via email from MEDIA Ping

Also the Mediabistro blog Media Jobs Daily picked up on my experience as well…http://bit.ly/cLeNEA

